FOUNDATION REPORT

NCPA Foundation continues its support for community pharmacy

The NCPA Foundation advances independent community pharmacy through scholarships to pharmacy students, research, and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy and patient care, and aid to community pharmacy owners for recovery in the event of disaster or other adverse circumstances. The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit, philanthropic 501(c)(3) organi-zation established in 1953.

The NCPA Foundation's mission is promoting the sustainability and growth of independent community pharmacies through scholarships, grants, and ownership development. Its vision is elevating the practice of independent community pharmacy.

For more information on the NCPA Foundation, visit www.ncpafoundation.org.

NCPA FOUNDATION AWARDS



John W. Dargavel Medal The 2022 Dargavel Medal, spon-

sored by McKesson, honors James R. Schiffer, Allegaert Berger & Vogel LLP, New York, whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel, who was

executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists, now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961.



Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Award

The Trailblazer Award recognizes an outstanding pharmacy owner whose pharmacy practice blazes a trail for other independent pharmacy owners and future generations

of independent pharmacy owners. The 2022 awardee is the Independent Community Pharmacist for innovating and implementing outstanding care throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.



NARD Ownership Award

The National Community Pharmacists Association was founded in 1898 as the National Association of Retail Druggists, or NARD. The Ownership Award recognizes an independent pharmacy owner who embraces entrepreneurial spirit through promotion and demon-

strated excellence in the field of community pharmacy ownership. The 2022 awardee is Marc Ost, CPhT, Eric's RX Shoppe LLC, Horsham, Pa.



National Preceptor of the Year

This award recognizes a pharmacist who has made significant contributions to the education of pharmacy students as a preceptor in a community practice setting. The 2022 awardee is Megan G. Smith, PharmD, The Pharmacy at Wellington, Little Rock, Ark.



Outstanding **F**aculty **L**iaison of the **Y**ear

This award recognizes a faculty liaison who demonstrates exceptional leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy, their NCPA Student Chapter, and the community. The 2022 awardee is Kendall Guthrie, PharmD, BCACP, University

of Missouri-Kansas City, Kansas City, Mo.

NCPA Foundation pharmacy scholarships

The NCPA Foundation recognizes students with demonstrated leadership qualities, academic achievement, and an interest in independent pharmacy. Each year, the NCPA Foundation proudly awards scholarships to college students pursuing community pharmacy ownership. With the support of McKesson/Rx-Ownership, the foundation awarded presidential scholarships to nine NCPA student members.

Pharmacists Mutual Scholarship for the NCPA Ownership Workshop

Through funding from Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Co., the foundation provides scholarships to students to attend the NCPA Ownership Workshop, an event for pharmacists considering pharmacy ownership or current owners looking to polish their management skills. This past year, the foundation awarded 10 scholarships.

Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA Pruitt-Schutte Student Business Plan Competition

The Good Neighbor Pharmacy NCPA **Pruitt-Schutte Student Business** Plan Competition promotes interest in independent community pharmacy ownership. The event is now in its 19th year, with 25 schools and colleges of pharmacy represented in the competition. The competition is supported by Good Neighbor Pharmacy, Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Co., and the NCPA Foundation. The competition is the first national competition of its kind in the pharmacy profession and honors two great champions of independent community pharmacy, the late Neil Pruitt Sr. and the late H. Joseph Schutte.



2022 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS

Congratulations to the following NCPA student members for receiving a 2022 NCPA Foundation scholarship:

J.C. and Rheba Cobb Memorial Scholarship for Excellence in Government Affairs

Andrew Smith, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy

Neil Pruitt Sr. Memorial Scholarship in Entrepreneurism

Abigail Cochran, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy

Willard B. Simmons Memorial Scholarship for Pharmacy Management

Alyssa Perry, Ohio Northern University Raabe College of Pharmacy

Partners in Pharmacy Scholarship

Mohit Kumar, University of Georgia College of Pharmacy Emma McCloskey, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy Ashley Murphy, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy Marylyn Oche, University of Maryland, Baltimore, School of Pharmacy Kayde Tudor, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy

Presidential Scholarship

Alexandra Bladholm, South Dakota State University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions

Madeline Clark, University of Missouri, Kansas City School of Pharmacy Katelyn Carswell, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy Jordan Conner, Auburn University Harrison College of Pharmacy Meagan Garza, University of the Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy

Noah Gurr, University of Georgia College of Pharmacy Kayla Kleinfeldt, The Medical University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy

Ryan Hoffart, University of Texas College of Pharmacy Savannah Poole, Wingate University School of Pharmacy



DISASTER RELIEF FUND

With donations from individuals and the Amerisource-Bergen Foundation sustaining the AmerisourceBergen Foundation-NCPA Foundation Disaster Relief Grant, the NCPA Foundation continued to provide financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for the repair of their pharmacies in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or other adverse circumstances.

Some of the over 250 pharmacies throughout the United States that have received a disaster relief grant from the NCPA Foundation since 2016.



DISPOSE MY MEDS™

Dispose My Meds offers information and resources for pharmacies to create medication disposal programs to help current and potential patients safely dispose of unused and expired medicines. NCPA members receive a discount on the Sharps TAKEAWAY Return System, a safe, easy method to dispose of unused patient medications. Visit www.disposemymeds.org for additional information.



Donate to the NCPA Foundation today! Scan the QR code. Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted under federal tax law.

NCPA FOUNDATION BOARD OF TRUSTEES

President

Gerald Shapiro, PharmD Uptown Drug Company, Los Angeles

Vice President

C. Robert Blake, PD Blake Pharmacy Inc., West Union, Ohio

Treasurer/Secretary

John Schutte GeriMed, Inc., Louisville, Ky.

Trustees

Donnie Calhoun, BPharm, RPh Calhoun Wellness Pharmacy, Anniston, Ala.

Aimee O'Reilly, PharmD O'Reilly Family Pharmacy, Worthington, Ohio

Bill Osborn, PharmD Osborn Drugs, Miami, Okla.

Scott Pace, PharmD, JD Kavanaugh Pharmacy, Little Rock, Ark.

Mark S. Riley, PharmD
East End Pharmacy, Little Rock, Ark.

Sharon M. Sherrer, PharmD Poole's Clinical Services, Marietta, Ga.

Board Members Emeritus

Joe Mosso, RPh Latrobe, Pa.

James R. Rankin, PharmD Indialantic, Fla.

Charlie West, PharmD Little Rock, Ark.