NCPA Foundation National Preceptor of the Year

Nomination Deadline: June 30

The NCPA Foundation National Preceptor of the Year award recognizes a pharmacist who has made a significant contribution to the education of pharmacy students as a preceptor in a community practice setting.

The award recipient will receive:

  • An engraved plaque
  • A travel stipend to the NCPA Annual Convention in the Fall
  • Complimentary registration to the NCPA Annual Convention


Candidates for this award must be an owner, manager, or staff pharmacist of an independent pharmacy. Preceptors may be self-nominated or nominated by community pharmacists, deans, department heads, NCPA pharmacy student members, school of pharmacy faculty, and state/local pharmacy associations. To be eligible for this award, a preceptor must not have received the award within the last five years.

Award Criteria

Nominations are open for 2024. Much of the applicant’s success as a nominee will be based on the description of how he/she meets the following criteria.

1. Preceptor of the Year demonstrates high standards of professionalism. This may be demonstrated through:

  • pharmacy leadership, service, and involvement
  • expression of genuine concern for patients
  • development of innovative or progressive practice
  • service to the profession through school or association committees or offices
  • service to the community through civic activities, fellowship, and religious or charitable affiliations
  • employment of mutual respect, patience, and a constructive/positive attitude with students, fellow practitioners, and other health professionals
  • consistent exhibition of professional ethics within the constraints of professional standards and the federal and state laws that govern the profession

2. Preceptor of the Year demonstrates commitment to students as a professional mentor and teacher. This may be demonstrated through:

  • development of unique teaching techniques
  • development of student-specific programs, projects or activities
  • involvement of students in pharmacist-specific activities
  • ongoing professional involvement with student after the rotation has ended
  • provision of regular feedback, encouragement, and support
  • ability to establish goals, expectations, and valuable learning activities for the experiential rotation

Previous National Preceptor of the Year Award Recipients

  • 2023 Kelly Selby, Denton, TX 
  • 2022 Megan Smith, Little Rock, AR
  • 2021 Nikki Adams Bryant, Preston, GA
  • 2020 Jonathan Harward, Raleigh, NC
  • 2019 Sharon Sherrer, Marietta, GA
  • 2018 Theresa Tolle, Sebastian, FL
  • 2017 NA
  • 2016 James Sajbel, Pueblo, CO
  • 2015 Laura Schwartzwald, Brainerd, MN
  • 2014 Peter A. Kreckel, Altoona, PA
  • 2013 Janet Kusler, Snohomish, WA
  • 2012 Randall S. Myers, Carey, OH
  • 2011 David Schoech, Columbus, KS
  • 2010 Joseph S. Moose, Concord, NC
  • 2009 Patricia Johnston, Beckley, WV
  • 2008 Melissa Osborne, Kansas City, MO
  • 2007 Dave Waggett, Wilmington, NC
  • 2006 Justin Wilson, Midwest City, OK
  • 2005 Dave Olig, Fargo, ND
  • 2004 Jim Schiffer, Westfield, NJ
  • 2003 Stephen Clement, Belleview, IL