NCPA Foundation Awards

John W. Dargavel Medal

This annual award honors those whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961. (The Foundation was established in 1953 to honor Dargavel.) Recipient is selected by the NCPA Foundation BoardPlease email for a list of previous award recipients.

Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Award

The Trailblazer Award recognize an outstanding pharmacy owner whose pharmacy practice blazes a trail for other independent pharmacy owners and future generations of independent pharmacy owners. 

NARD Ownership Award

The National Community Pharmacists Association was founded in 1898 as the National Association of Retail Druggists. Sponsored by the NCPA Foundation, the NARD Ownership Award recognizes an independent pharmacist who embraces entrepreneurial spirit through promotion and demonstrated excellence in the field of community pharmacy ownership. Self-nominations are  acceptable. Application and Additional information available.

National Preceptor of the Year

This award recognizes a pharmacist who has made a significant contribution to the education of pharmacy students as a preceptor in a community practice setting. Candidates for this award must be an owner, manager, or staff pharmacist of an independent pharmacy. Preceptors may be self-nominated or nominated by community pharmacists, deans, department heads, pharmacy students, school of pharmacy faculty, and state/local pharmacy associations. Application and Additional information available. 

Outstanding Faculty Liaison of the Year

This award recognizes a faculty liaison who demonstrates exceptional leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy, their NCPA Chapter, and the community. Nominations are accepted from NCPA student members. Application and Additional information available. 

Congratulations to the 2021 NCPA Foundation Award Recipients. 

Sponsorship opportunities are available.